Getting Device Codes Added to CPT's in Chargemaster

I was wondering if anyone had a good process to ensure that new device codes are getting attached to the CPT codes in your CDM. I am new to this role. Currently our business office software is alerting HIM Coding that a device code is required prior to billing. A recent example was pacemaker leads needing to be added to the pacemaker insertion CPT.

Looking forward to hearing what others do.

Thanks,

Jeff

Comments

• Jeff:

I currently utilize a CDM product that assists me with this process.  Many of the manufacturing devices can be searched within that CDM product and matched via manufacturer number.  The product also allows for e-mail requests as part of the process. Within this request functionality, the manufacturer product information is a requirement.  There are the times that this information is not available within the product.  I have found that some suppliers, such as Medtronic and Boston Scientific, will offer coding information on their products via the Internet.  A few have reimbursement documents available.  I also utilize the web to search the product to see how it is used.  Seeing the item will give me the general idea of what the item does and its usage (e.g. implant, wire, rods, orthotic, etc.)  

We have a process at our facility for the clinical department or Materials Management to supply all manufacturing information, which will allow you to search the web. place a call to the company to try to get this information, or access this information through the CDM vendor product.